European Medal of Tolerance

The European Medal of Tolerance was established to honour and reward extraordinary creative achievements in the promotion of tolerance and/or reconciliation. 

The Medal is dedicated to the effective implementation of initiatives promoting tolerance in both the public and private spheres, in particular in the policy-making process, legislative action on the national and regional level, and law enforcement activities, as well as in the fields of art, education, culture, science and communication. 

Its ultimate aim is to draw attention to successful undertakings that may serve as models for others in the field of tolerance, peace building and reconciliation, and it is presented as a concrete and lasting token of appreciation and respect. 

Recipients of the Medal of Tolerance

H.M. Juan Carlos I, King of Spain

President of Croatia Ivo Josipović and former President of Serbia Boris Tadić

Samuel Eto’o and the FARE Network

President of the European Parliament Martin Schulz

Andrei Konchalovsky

H.S.H. Prince Albert of Monaco

Formal Nomination Criteria

The European Medal of Tolerance is to be awarded to persons, groups of persons, non-governmental, governmental and intergovernmental organizations and institutions for exceptional contributions to, and leadership in, the promotion of tolerance and reconciliation on the European continent, the fight against the most odious forms of intolerance such as xenophobia, antisemitism, racism and extreme nationalism and the preservation of the memory of the Holocaust and other genocides.

The Medal may also be awarded to the families of outstanding individuals who have lost their lives in the struggle against intolerance.

The recipients of the Medal are chosen by decision of the ECTR Board, based on incoming nominations.

Call for Nomimations

The ECTR welcomes nomination letters explaining why a candidate should be considered for the European Medal of Tolerance at the e-mail: