ECTR announces the ECTR Academic Advisory Group

John Gray

John Gray is an English political philosopher and – until 2008 – a School Professor of European Thought at the London School of Economics and Political Science. John Gray contributes regularly to The Guardian, The Times Literary Supplement and the New Statesman, where he is the lead book reviewer. He has written several influential books, including ‘False Dawn: The Delusions of Global Capitalism’ (1998), ‘Straw Dogs: Thoughts on Humans and Other Animals’ (2003), which attacks philosophical humanism, a worldview which Gray sees as originating in religions, ‘Al Qaeda and What It Means to Be Modern’ (2005), and ‘Black Mass: Apocalyptic Religion and the Death of Utopia’ (2007), a critique of utopian thinking in the modern world.

Antony Beevor

Antony Beevor is the award-winning military historian and writer. His books have appeared in more than thirty languages and have sold over seven million copies. A former chairman of the Society of Authors, he has received honorary doctorates from the Universities of Kent, Bath, East Anglia and York. He is also a visiting professor at the University of Kent and a Fellow of King’s College London. Antony Beevor’s latest book is ‘Ardennes 1944 – Hitler’s Last Gamble’. His work ‘The Second World War’ was a No. 1 international bestseller.

Timothy Snyder

Timothy Snyder is an American author and historian specializing in the history of Central and Eastern Europe, and the Holocaust. He is the Richard C. Levin Professor of History at Yale University and a Permanent Fellow at the Institute for Human Sciences in Vienna. Snyder is a member of the Council on Foreign Relations and the Committee on Conscience of the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum. He has authored i.a. On Tyranny: Twenty Lessons from the Twentieth Century (2017); Black Earth: The Holocaust as History and Warning (2016); Bloodlands: Europe Between Hitler and Stalin (2012).

Alexander Dynkin

Alexander Dynkin is a Russian economist and academic. He is the long-year president and former director of the Institute of World Economy and International Relations (IMEMO), of the Russian Academy of Science. Between 1998-1999 he held the position of the economic adviser to the Prime-Minister of Russia. His research interests and publications have been in growth, political and economic forecasting, international comparisons, technological innovation
and energy studies.

The ECTR announces the establishment of the ECTR Academic Advisory Group, chaired by Prof. John Gray. Other members include Professors Antony Beevor, Timothy Snyder and Alexander Dynkin. The purpose of the Group would be oversight on the ECTR Research Grants for Secure Tolerance Program and the Kantor Prize.