European Medal of Tolerance 2016 for Andrei Konchalovsky

The 2016 European Medal of Tolerance in the area of culture is granted to Andrei Konchalovsky, a Russian film director, producer and screenwriter.

The 2016 European Medal of Tolerance in the area of culture is granted to Andrei Konchalovsky, a Russian film director, producer and screenwriter.

Throughout His professional career Andrei Konchalovsky has shown deep understanding and sensibility towards human tragedies. History has been the source of inspiration for Him to draw universal lessons for humanity. He is perhaps best known for his latest movie, the Holocaust drama “Paradise”. In 2016 this movie won the Silver Lion at the 73rd Venice International Film Festival. In December 2016 it was shortlisted in the nine films to be considered for the 89th OSCAR Academy Award. 

“The Medal goes to Andrei Konchalovsky because of his lifelong achievements in the area of remembrance of human tragedies”, emphasized Kantor. “Extremists are using and manipulating the past to serve their own agenda, and it is an important role of people in the arts and culture to stand against extremism and provide those of us who did not experience the past with teachable moments for the present and the future which Andrei has done.” 

About the Medal

The European Medal of Tolerance is intended to honor living individuals and active public or private bodies and institutions that have made a significant contribution to promoting and safeguarding, democracy, respect and tolerance on the European continent. In the past the Medal has been awarded to His Majesty, the King of Spain; president of Croatia Ivo Josipović and former President of Serbia Boris Tadić; footballer Samuel Eto’o and the FARE (Football against Racism in Europe) Network.

About the ECTR

The ECTR is an opinion-making and advisory body on international tolerance promotion, reconciliation and education, and fosters understanding and tolerance among peoples of various communities, educates towards techniques of reconciliation, facilitates post-conflict social apprehensions, monitors racism, Antisemitism and xenophobia and proposes pro-tolerance initiatives and legal solutions. Among its prominent members are Tony Blair (ECTR Board Chairman), Jose María Aznar, former Prime Minister of Spain, Göran Persson, former Prime Minister of Sweden, VairaVike-Freiberga, former President of Latvia and Rita Süssmuth, former Speaker of the German Bundestag. Founding member of the ECTR was the late Vaclav Havel, one of the principal leaders of the democratic transformation in Central Europe.

Op-ed by Dr Moshe Kantor: Europe’s rising antisemitism demands a new social contract.

Full text of the Op-ed: "In Europe, due to rising radicalism, populism, a weak political center, economic imbalances and...

Bernard-Henri Lévy appointed as ECTR Ambassador

The President of the European Council on Tolerance and Reconciliation (ECTR), Dr Moshe Kantor, announced today the appointment of renowned French philosopher...

ECTR Statement on the Results of Hungarian 2018 Parliamentary Elections

“The European Council on Tolerance and Reconciliation is concerned by the dangerous rhetoric which has accompanied the Hungarian election campaign in which...

We cannot sit back and let anti Semitism thrive

The French Enlightenment thinker Voltaire once said: “I disapprove of what you say, but will defend to the death your right to...

ECTR Announces Research Grants and Kantor Prize for Secure Tolerance

The ECTR announces the establishment of the Kantor Prize for Secure Tolerance, which is named after ECTR’ President and award founder Moshe...